Vybes Kartel & Spice “Ramping Shop” Banned by broadcasting commission (Uncensored Video)

200px-parental_advisory_labelsvg So far this year Vybes Kartel and Spices’ “Ramping Shop” is undoubtedly the most played song anywhere in Jamaica. The sexually charged lyrics have lead the Broadcasting Commission placing a ban on the song as it relates to air play on Jamaican radio and television, ramping shop mash up to raass.

WARNING contains language that some people may find offensive, as if I care. If you know the lyrics to this song, ensure to sing the parts appropriate to your gender especially in public spaces.

There have been quite a lot of wide eyes and dropped jaws from a lot of people in the media about the content of the song. What puzzles me is that the song has been out and playing on radio for well over two months now with out any controversy, except for this. In recent weeks there have been a steady drum beat to highlight the high sexual nature of the song in the pages of the editorials and news pages. Even though I can agree with the critics to some extent (the media) it makes me wonder if they are out of touch or just tone deaf.

TIP: Listen to Saturday morning radio-All day Saturday for that matter.

Bend ova, bend ova, bend ova-back way, back way–

Even Reverend Al Miller had something to say about the ramping shop song. In an extensive sermon recently the Rev took aim at “daggering“, “back it up” and of course “ramping shop”. His comments were:

“That kin’ a reggae dead. We want to give to the world that which adds value to the world,…… not ‘daggering’, ‘back it up’ and ‘rampin’ shop’.

“You take a brilliant lyrical mind like Kartel. He must fully use that mind to improve the reggae product to the world. Spice, a woman beautiful like a Spice, should be presenting the royal aspect of her womanhood to the world,”

This is priceless stuff, I would have loved to be in church when the Rev was talking about “daggering”. -I would have shouted ” Amen,talk di tings dem”-what a joke. But seriously it is good when we have spiritual leaders who are not afraid to take on the social issues of the day, I admire that, whether I agree with their opinions or not. We need more of that in Jamaica.

Personally I don’t think there are any lyrics or video that will shock me anymore. I have seen and heard it all-I think?

If the sex and violence in music on the radio or anywhere else for that matter in Jamaica was contributing to Jamaicas’ gross domestic product (GDP) in a meaningful way, Jamaica would be flourishing in the midst of a world economic melt down thanks to our “creativity”.

In yesterdays Jamaica Star the FRONT PAGE headline screamed “KIDS DEEP IN ‘RAMPIN’ SHOP‘”. It highlights the graphic nature of the song and how quickly youngsters as young as seven and ten years old have caught on to the song. I found a few excerpts from the article interesting,

“One 10-year-old from the Crescent Road, St Andrew, was a natural when she was prompted to sing the sexually charged song. The words rolled off her tongue like a boulder down a steep hill. “Mi two phone a ring but mi nah ansa none, ’cause mi affi whine pon … like this…., deal wid yuh breast like mi crushing Irish…,” the youngster sang carefully omitting the foul language from the lyrics.”

The Jamaica Star also has a forum in which Spice defends the shop. To read it click here.

Maybe coincidence or a coordinated effort after Fridays front page story in the Jamaica Star, sister publication the Jamaica Gleaner is reporting today front page “Slack song ban – Kartel’s ‘Rampin’ Shop’ among explicit lyrics outlawed”. You know it’s a really slow news day when the lead story is about a three month old song which has been banned from the airways, besides we don’t have any other pressing issues to talk about.-everything is just dandy in Jamdung.

Any way, the article gives a good prospective about how the build up started like with an elitist, politically correct- moral warriors sort of grass root effort to protest the song that lead to the ban. The ban prohibits radio from airing sexually explicit songs even if the words are bleeped out. The impact on the ban is not just on “Ramping Shop” but all sexually explicit lyrics.

Wah the BLEEP dem BLEEP a BLEEP wid de BLEEPING music fa. before dem go sid dung a fine sitten fi do, (hiss teeth) BLEEP.

Worried about Censorship? Let’s wait and see the parameters of the ban.

The first time I heard the uncensored version of “Ramping Shop” I was driving behind a heavily tinted white Towne Ace bus that was driving really slow and blasting the song, trust me when I say blasting. I caught my self in a rare moment of self-awareness when I realized I had a slight smirk on my face while listening intently to every word and driving really slowly behind the bus even though I could have passed- I wanted to hear it. It was like filling in the blank and I got them all right.

That little story says nothing about me as a person other than I am very aware, curious and practice reflective listening.  :)) Although I love music I am not the type to go out and buy CDs at the road side or in a store  if I can not download it from Limewire-cheap I know. I mostly borrow, burn and return. Now with the ban I can not play fill-in the blanks with all the songs on the radio.

Apart from my own selfish hang ups about the songs being banned, I can certainly see the over all objective and good intentions of the Broadcasting Commission. I listen to a lot of radio sometimes, especially while driving. I have heard many slips where radio disc jocks allow an expletive to go through. Maybe an honest mistake or purposely I don’t know. If the Broadcasting Commission is listening they should hear it because I sure as hell am not going to report it.

I recently read a blog entry from a new Jamaican blogger (blogroll-Chat bout) expressing how he/she felt about the slack music and it’s impact no children. A nice little write up in our native tongue. Click here to read enough of it to backside!!

I am more concerned about the music glorifying guns and murders in today’s music, now that’s graphic. If a person is to analyze the lyrics of some “gun chunes” and really put it into context you can visualize some of the most graphic killings imaginable. It is held up as a value in a sick way in much of our culture, especially dancehall. Where is the outrage about this type of music? We get all riled up about a little ramping ina di shop while all the customers are dying off.

If I have learned anything about this whole episode is that when columnists, newspapers editors, churches and mountains of complaints from ordinary Jamaicans bear down on a lazy government agency we can spring them into action to doing their FUCKING jobs.

~ by RB on February 7, 2009.

17 Responses to “Vybes Kartel & Spice “Ramping Shop” Banned by broadcasting commission (Uncensored Video)”

  1. first time I heard “tek buddy gal” never though it could even be edited in any possible way to make it clean enough for radio. But 4 months later they found a way. Life is full of concerns.

  2. Owen- I guess splicing and scratching can make the “slackest” fit for air play. It is so obvious what they are saying.

  3. not sure i had heard this song before but have some youts in my neighborhood back home this christmas that love mavado to the max. every evening it was squeeze of the breast followed by F*** her twice a day played loudly for the entire street to hear and is not like nuff lil pickney naa live bout the place. shameful. course couldnt tell dem nuttin cause next ting ya get cuss or shoot up.

    but when I think about it every era has had its slack tunes. so the more things change the more they remain the same.

  4. I was planning a post on this topic but this comment will have to suffice. I think the Broadcast Commission clown up themselves by acting in such a rush.

    It is obvious from the risque photos released a month before the video that they, Kartel and Spice, intended to get maximum publicity from a provocative song.

    If the Commission had waited till say April to take action, they’d look less like they were working in league with Spice and Kartel’s publicist.

    Also the idea that an edited/bleeped out song shouldn’t be played at all is dangerous. The rule they put out is too broad — and soon that will become clear.

    Still I support the Commission’s need to act against slackness and violence — it could have been better executed to not seem like puppets.

  5. Jdid- Nobody cares who hear these songs. I think there is a place for these tunes if some people want to hear them, but in the appropriate time and place. Nobody like the little pickney dem love these type of music.

    Yu mad, tell whi fi turn off dem music ..LOL —Latley I am haring some more uplifting dancehall music that I like.

  6. Diatribalist- I think the Broadcasting commission is fast asleep, I am serious. Even this evening on one radio station I heard a bad word. They took it off quick but it already wnt through. Now I hear people saying the music from America is not being treated with the same rules even though they are just as and even more graphic than or own music (poor people card) On several occasions I have heard many expletives on radio and never heard of a single fine. The broadcasting commission would have never acted if it was not for the harsh criticism and attention in the media.

    I agree totally that the action taken seemed hast and does not appear to be well thought out in terms of the implications it would have on music. As much as I agree with keeping the heavy things off the air I am concern about censorship. I have not even heard any major organizations in Jamaica voicing this concern.

  7. If all it takes for the Broadcasting Commission to get up off dem rassclaat baxide an do dem fucking job is one irate high-brown woman weilding her moral sword, then you know we have some serious problems yet to be discovered!

    Didn’t Dunn or one of them say in response that the song was on their desk and one of many that they were “planning to look at”?
    We don’t need to ask whether or not the BC has been doing their job. We KNOW they haven’t: DB your discussion of your listening habits is a clear example of how our individual ability to decipher what kind of music is valuable from what is not has been so thoroughly contaminated, we can’t tell the difference. And now to swoop in like some faada whe’ abandon dem pickney and now a claim seh dem a don, this BC wid dem high and mighty self w’aa come claim seh dem a ban song because it obscene, and making all kinds of stipulations about what kinds of words can be in the song. Dat is just pyere fuckery! Where have they been when entertainers were being chastised not to curse and whatnot at stageshows? Den anno di same artist dem whe’h deh sing a stage show whe’h deh play pan radio? Right after im mek im big pronouncement, Golding shoudda fiyah Hopeton Dunn’s rass.

    Based on this purely political exercise – that’s what it was, I am sure – we now know that the BC has absolutely no credibility on the question of determining what is fit for airplay. Since its just pure moralism dem a use rather than any clearly defined set of rules and logic, a whole lot else is going to be banned without our knowing it, and which shouldn’t, thanks to their haphazard behaviour and lackadaisical attitude. I swear, every single one of them people running these governmental agencies should be fired posthaste. Dem wutless so till! Me ga’an. Yuh post come ‘ot up mi ‘ead!

  8. Longbench-As I said earlier I have heard many curse words on radio from both local songs and foreign music. I have never heard of anyone being fined for anything. We can not expect the BC to hear everything but I am sure someone somewhere heard it.

    I too is at awe at how ineffective the BC has been. I was wondering for a while if the government had abandoned the agency. For YEARS radio has been filled with “gun chune” and “gal chune”. Nothing wrong with expressing ones self artistically according to ones experience and world view but it has gone too far.

    Even though I feel the same as you do about the BC getting off dem baxside I am glad they got up and do something. I just hope they don’t go too far with it because I too get the sense that this was a knee-jerk decision.

    For me personally I listen to all types of music and try to keep an open mind.

  9. kartel is a very brilliant mind an i love his lyrics.kartel just express himself in ways that alot of people might not relate too,i love the way he puts everything in the open i mean what kids not know about sex in these times. go kartel am ur number one fan

  10. Talent yes, adult music should still be adult music.

  11. let me a na tell all a yah fools this wat the music industry really needs something to be hard about

  12. […] Vybes Kartel & Spice “Ramping Shop” Banned by broadcasting commission (Uncensored Video) […]

  13. […] Her career took off in 2009 when she teamed up with Vybz Kartel on the controversial (and banned) single “Romping Shop”. Throughout her career, she has used sexually explicit lyrics and […]

  14. […] Her career took off in 2009 when she teamed up with Vybz Kartel on the controversial (and banned) single “Romping Shop”. Throughout her career, she has used sexually explicit lyrics and […]

  15. […] Her career took off in 2009 when she teamed up with Vybz Kartel on the controversial (and banned) single “Romping Shop”. Throughout her career, she has used sexually explicit lyrics […]

  16. […] Her career took off in 2009 when she teamed up with Vybz Kartel on the controversial (and banned) single “Romping Shop”. Throughout her career, she has used sexually explicit lyrics and […]

  17. […] sua carriera è decollata nel 2009, quando ha collaborato con Vybz Kartel [it] al controverso (e vietato) singolo “Romping Shop”. Nel corso della sua carriera, ha usato testi di canzoni […]

Leave a comment